Home » Uncategorized » The Odyssey

The Odyssey

I had not read the Odyssey before, or anything of that size from that era. I knew very little about the book itself outside of a brief plot summery before I cracked open the cover and began reading, which doubtlessly influenced my experience of it. I had no preconceived opinions on the characters portrayed within the pages and I was never entirely sure of just what would happen next. One aspect that surprised me was the language and way the book was written. Thanks to phenomenal translation, I found I could understand what I was reading without having to concentrate as intensely as I did when I read “The Prince” this past year in high school. That made reading The Odyssey significantly more enjoyable and I found, happily, that finishing this book was not an uphill battle for understanding. What struck me next was the uniqueness of the writing style and structure. I would call reading a hobby of mine, but despite this I have had little experience with tales as old as the odyssey. The flow and tone was interesting and different, the choice of words clearly well thought out. The repetition of certain phrases as the book went on, significantly the description of dawn and her “rose-red fingers”, was something that stuck with me, as I often remember specific lines that I favour in a book. It is not only the plot which must be skilfully weaved in the creation of a tale, but also the style and use of language.

Another aspect that stuck with me was the portrayal of women in the book. As is expected from a tale of this age, the strongest mortal characters were male, and the mortal women were considerably less of a focus. Penelope, a main character of the epic is of course admired for her devotion to her husband and stereotypically feminine traits, rather than traits such as bravery and determination, which her son and husband possess. Though this is of course to be expected of a book as old as this, as gender roles and expectations have changed and evolved, and feminism has come into a stronger light. And it must be acknowledged that the immortal females, prominently Athena, are significantly more strong, decisive, and independent. Certainly though, I’m looking forward to delving into the gender portrayals in the Odyssey, if such a discussion arises.

This was an interesting and intriguing read, unlike anything I’ve encountered beforehand, and I’m looking forward to Monday’s lecture to see what an intellectual and analytical perspective will reveal about The Odyssey.

One thought on “The Odyssey

  1. I’m glad to see you have mentioned the gender differentiation in the odyssey. I found that women served to hinder the mighty, male character in Odysseus and other, lesser men. Whether it was the sirens, Calypso, or Penelope, women appeared to be represented as hurdles in men’s attempts towards self improvement or glory. Penelope demonstrated this through the leading on of the many suitors. She would weave and unravel her work every night in order to hold the suitors stationary, static, and free from performing virtuous duties. Athena, however, breaks this mold. This leads me to believe that either divinity trumps traditional gender roles, or my theory is nonsense and poorly-based.

Leave a comment