Home » Uncategorized » Beginnings

Beginnings

Hello to all, it was great to get to know a bit about everyone in class! I’m Camille, and if you remember from the little ice breaker we played, I have three brothers, and was born in Vancouver. However, I don’t remember much of this city as I moved to Toronto when I was fairly young. Coming back to Vancouver was a fairly easy choice for me, and I was ready to face a completely new beginning. The enormity of UBC became much less daunting when I found out about the arts one program. Despite growing up in a sizable city, and loving the feeling of anonymity one has in such an environment, I was still intimidated by the idea of having potentially all my classes in a lecture hall of hundreds. So arts one seemed like the ideal transition into university life, and so far I feel that I’ve made the right choice, though the year is only beginning.

To tell you a bit more about myself, I’m interested in history, specifically the enlightenment, and have a strong curiosity when it comes to philosophy. I’ve heard that no one comes out of university with the same future goals they had coming in, but as of now I hope to one day work in aid evaluation. I developed a passion for international relations and politics in high school and would like to travel around the world to evaluate different programs to see how effective they are, and contribute to the improvement of aid. However, I’m very aware that this will likely change, as when I went into high school I was convinced that the only thing I would ever want to do was be a teacher. Before that I wanted to be a chef, but one more fun fact about me is that my cooking adventures don’t always go very well. So I’m keeping my mind open to try to and find my passions.

Hm…. Lets see… my favourite colour is blue? Or sometimes red. And occasionally green. It changes frequently. I’ve been known to be fairly indecisive every now and then, especially the night before an essay is due and I decide halfway through the night that my thesis is awful and scrap the whole thing. It’s a miracle I was ever on time to class with the amount of sleep I got, though now I plan to change my ways and work on time management.

I can’t wait to discuss the odyssey with everyone, and get to know you all better!

Over and out,

Camille

Leave a comment